Our Curriculum

Albion north primary school

Our Curriculum

Albion North Primary School follows the Victorian Curriculum that is developed by the Victorian Curriculum Assessment Authority (VCAA). The Victorian Curriculum (F–10) sets out what every student should learn during their first eleven years of schooling. The curriculum is the common set of knowledge and skills required by students for life-long learning, social development and active and informed citizenship.

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 incorporates the Australian Curriculum and reflects Victorian priorities and standards. The Victorian Curriculum focuses on learning area content and achievement standards that describe what students will learn and teachers will teach.

At Albion North Primary School our teachers analyse student learning data which is collected in a variety of ways to plan lesson sequences and learning activities for their students. Every student is treated as an individual and learning programs are created or modified to suit the student’s needs. For example, based on their data, a Year One student may be working two years above expected level for reading and therefore learning will be tailored to meet this need. At Albion North Primary School, students are taught:

English (reading, writing, speaking & listening)
Humanities and Social Sciences (History, Geography, Economics, Civics & Citizenship)
Health and Physical Education

Other areas of the Victorian Curriculum including The Arts, Technologies and Languages will also be covered.

Albion Bubble